July 15, 2016 - Indiana University–Purdue University Fort Wayne (IPFW) recognized Mayor Tom Henry with the IPFW Champion award on Thursday evening at the Steel Dynamics Keith E. Busse IPFW Alumni Center.

"It is a true delight to honor someone who has invested so much time and energy on behalf of our campus and students," said Chancellor Vicky Carwein.

Mayor Henry has been involved with IPFW throughout his eight-year term as mayor. He delivered his 2010 State of the City Address from campus, welcomed the community to the RiverFest events, and was part of the IPFW Sculpture with Purpose project. 

Most recently, he inspired our students at the annual The Big Event community service day and at the inaugural IPFW Top 50 banquet and award ceremony. His office also provided support for the annual faculty and staff enrichment tours to help build connections between IPFW and companies and organizations around the state.

“IPFW, through its investments in their students and the larger community, has been part of Fort Wayne’s momentum in recent years. We are a stronger, more prosperous community because of IPFW’s presence," said Mayor Henry. "I am honored to be selected as the 2016 IPFW Champion to show my support in how IPFW can continue to be a place that develops the talent Fort Wayne and northeast Indiana needs for the future.”

About the Champion Award
The IPFW Champion award is given annually to recognize one or more people for their outstanding contributions and service as ambassadors in connecting our university with our community.

Previous honorees were Donald McArdle, Elias Samaan, and Alfred Zacher (2011); Karl LaPan and Maclyn Parker (2012); David Molfenter (2013); R. Prasad Mantravadi, M.D. (2014); and Linda Ruffolo (posthumously) and Irene Walters (2015).