It is the mission of the Office of the Mayor to assist the Mayor in serving the public by gathering information on important issues, assisting in analyzing those issues and developing policies to guide the course of the City for the future. At the direction of the Mayor, the office implements policy by coordinating and guiding the actions of the various divisions of the City government, and working cooperatively with other units of government, business, and other organizations to accomplish the goals of the City.

To the left, you will see additional tabs that offer information. As an example of some of the online resources, you may click "Forms" to request Mayor Tom Henry to speak at your event or to request a proclamation. Other options include links to "Human Resources" where you can see all the latest news from the City. The City has an abundance of information to offer the public. Through SmartGov, the City of Fort Wayne is looking to create an atmosphere where citizens feel engaged and knowledgeable about local government.

Additional resources include:

George W. Wood 1840
Joseph Morgan 1841 & 42
Henry Lotz 1843
John M. Wallace 1844
Dr. Merchant W. Huxford 1845 - 1849
William Stewart 1849 - 1852
1855 - 1857
Dr. Philip G. Jones 1852
Charles Whitmore 1853 & 1854
Samuel S. Morss 1857 - 1859
Franklin P. Randall 1859 - 1864
1869 - 1873
Judge James L. Worden 1865
Benjamin Saunders 1866
Henry Sharp 1867 & 1868
Col. Charles Zollinger 1873 - 1885
Charles F. Muhler 1885 - 1889
Daniel L. Harding 1889 - 1893
Henry F. Scherer 1894
1897 - 1901
Chauncey B. Oakley 1894 - 1897
Henry C. Berghoff 1901 - 1905
William J. Hosey 1906 - 1910
Jesse Grice 1910 - 1914
William J. Hosey 1914 - 1918
Sherman Cutshall 1918 - 1922
William J. Hosey 1922 - 1926
William C. Geake 1926 - 1930
William J. Hosey 1930 - 1934
Harry W. Baals 1934 - 1947
Henry Branning 1948 - 1951
Harry W. Baals 1952 - 5/9/1954
Robert Meyers 1954 - 1959
Paul Mike Burns 1960 - 1963
Harold S. Zeis 1964 - 1971
Ivan Lebamoff 1972 - 1975
Robert Armstrong 1976 - 1979
Winfield Moses 1980 - 7/8/1985
Cosette Simon 7/8/1985 - 7/19/1985
Winfield Moses 7/20/1985 - 1987
Paul Helmke 1988 - 1999
Graham Richard 2000 - 2007
Tom Henry 2008 -


Fort Wayne Mayor Tom Henry

Tom Henry is serving in his third term as Mayor of Fort Wayne. Leading Indiana’s second largest city, Mayor Henry is making government the best it can be for residents and businesses by demonstrating a commitment to engagement, innovation, and performance.

Mayor Henry has a strong record of successes in neighborhood infrastructure improvements, downtown development, job creation, business expansions, advances in public safety, and enhancements to the City’s world-class park system. 

Before being elected Mayor, he served from 1983-2003 on Fort Wayne City Council, representing northwest Fort Wayne.

Mayor Henry has lived in Fort Wayne almost all his life and began his career in the private sector as CEO of a group purchasing organization serving hospitals. He then went on to become a successful small business owner of a local insurance agency and healthcare consulting firm.

Highlights of successes under Mayor Henry’s leadership since he took office January 1, 2008:

  • Completion of the Harrison Square downtown development (Parkview Field, Courtyard by Marriott hotel, and The Harrison mixed-use facility with housing and retail)

  • Light Lease Settlement between the City of Fort Wayne and Indiana Michigan Power

  • Creation of the Legacy fund to provide catalytic investment, leverage additional resources, and benefit residents. The fund is expected to grow to over $62 million at the end of 2025.

  • Purchase of Aqua Indiana’s southwest water utility that allows for all City residents to have City Utilities water

  • Ash Skyline Plaza downtown development project that includes a parking garage, the national corporate headquarters for Ash Brokerage and a residential component. Construction on the Ash Brokerage and parking garage components are complete and the residential tower will be completed in 2018. The total project investment is more than $100 million.

  • Since 2012, 21,600 jobs have been retained, nearly 6,900 jobs have been created and there has been a total private investment of more than $2.3 billion

  • A commitment to public safety, which has included multiple academy classes for the Fort Wayne Police and Fire departments and enhanced technology to better serve and protect the public. 

  • Creation of the Fiscal Policy Group that resulted in additional funding for more police officers and firefighters, maintenance projects throughout the Parks and Recreation system, and a record amount of neighborhood infrastructure improvement projects in all four quadrants of the City. Since 2014, $100 million has been invested in neighborhoods.

  • Completion of the first-ever Riverfront Development Study to provide an outline for the opportunity for a world-class river development in the heart of the city. The first phase of construction on riverfront development started in 2017.

  • Completion of the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Memorial Bridge in downtown Fort Wayne

  • The successful merger of Fort Wayne and Allen County 911 communications services

  • Expansion of the 311 call center to provide efficient and effective services to residents and businesses

  • The SmartGov transparency initiative, using new methods and technologies to make government more open, effective and responsive

  • Expansion of the greenways and trails system to over 100 miles

A 1970 graduate of Fort Wayne Central Catholic High School, Mayor Henry earned his bachelor’s degree in psychology and his MBA from the University of Saint Francis. He is also an Army veteran.

One of 17 children, Mayor Henry and his wife, Cindy, have been married since 1975. They have two grown children and three grandchildren and are members of Most Precious Blood Church.

Page 4 of 4