Text Size
City Council

Council District Map - districts through 2020 Census

(Download the FREE Adobe Acrobat Reader to view and print PDF forms.)

City Council Districts
Links to information on the six council districts pdf Data  pdfMap

Hello and welcome to the information site for the City Council's most current redistricted map. We hope you will link into the map and its corresponding data. The map was changed in 2012 following the 2010 census. The state of Indiana mandates that redistricting take place at the state and local government levels every ten years when the Census occurs. Therefore, by law, the City Council districts needed to be adjusted not later than 2012 as part of the 2010 census. The law states that districts must have nearly equal population, follow natrual boundaries, be as compact as possible and not cross precinct boundary lines. Population adjustments are made by adding or subtracting Voting Precincts according to their population and compactness to an adjacent district. In this most recent endeavor (passed by City Council June 26, 2012) only nine (9) precincts needed to be moved into a new district in order to achieve the necessary balance. This means fewer citizens will need to adjust to a change in district council representation. For any persons affected by changes in redistricting, the Allen County Election Board sends out notices to all registered voters in affected precincts.

The map numbers each of the six (6) council districts. By state law, a second-class city is divided into six council districts. Each district has a single representative; three councilmembers are elected at-large, who represent the entire city.  One will note that neighborhood associations are also represented on the map.

If you should have questions regarding these changes, please contact the City Council Office at citycouncil@cityoffortwayne.org or call 260-427-1445.







Share this article

Translate Content

English French German Russian Spanish