Read to the animals webpage

Read to the Animals

 

Registration will go live at NOON on the first weekday of each month 

 

Please only choose one date in the month to sign up for to allow more children to participate in our most popular program.  

 

This exciting opportunity allows children ages 5-12 to read to cats and small animals like rabbits and guinea pigs waiting on their forever homes. Children can bring their own books or pick from our collection of books!

  • Each child must be accompanied by a parent or guardian who stays at the shelter during their reading session
  • Each child can be registered for one 30 minute time slot per session
  • Readers must be registered to attend (siblings that aren't registered may not join)
  • Each reading session is limited to 4 readers to ensure each child has a great experience
  • The program is FREE!

Add a heading 1

2024 Remaining 'Read to the Animals' Dates

Mon, April 8 

Mon, April 22 

Mon, May 13 

Mon, May 20 

Mon, June 10 

Mon, June 24 

Mon, July 8 

Mon, July 22 

Mon, Aug 12 

Mon, Aug 26 

Mon, Sep 9 

Mon, Sep 23 

Mon, Oct 14 

Mon, Oct 28 

Mon, Nov 18 

Mon, Nov 25 

Mon, Dec 9 

                 

Questions? Contact the Humane Education department at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Adoption Lobby Hours:

12:00 - 5:30 p.m. Tuesday, Thursday, Friday
12:00 - 6:00 p.m. Wednesday
9:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m. First Saturday of each month

Closed Mondays FOR ADOPTIONS
To submit a pet adoption profile, you must do so 15-minutes before closing to allow sufficient time for processing.

Adoptions number:

260-427-5502


Business Office Hours (lost & found pets, citations, or other law enforcement concerns):

11:00 a.m. - 6:00 p.m. Mon-Fri
CLOSED Saturday & Sunday


Animal Control Officer Assistance
260-427-1244
9am-8pm Monday - Friday
After 8pm, weekend & holidays,
call 260-449-3000

After Hours / Immediate Officer Assistance:
1:00 a.m. - 6:00 a.m. Emergencies
260-449-3000


General Contact Information:
Fort Wayne Animal Care & Control
3020 Hillegas Road
Fort Wayne IN 46808
260-427-1244
After 8 p.m. and on weekends and holidays, call 449-3000 for assistance.
Fax: 260-427-5514


It is our mission to serve our community in a humane, public safety capacity while working to keep pets with loving families by providing education opportunities and resources or facilitating re-homing or adoption when necessary.

WebsiteBadge Color

BCFP Better City for Pets Sealorphan kitten club

BPF Logo